Blueberries . . . Yum! The taste of summer

I love summer–for so very many reasons! I get the summer off (well at least as “off” as a mother of three can get!). I get to laze by my pool in one of my various lovely sun hats (which I adore but get so few opportunities to wear!) lounging with a good book drinking hard lemonade under a brilliant blue sky. At least until mid-July that is, when the Texas summer hits its scorching intensity at which point I load up my kiddos and trek up North to visit my adorable little nephews and the craziest three year old in the whole world, all of whom I adore and don’t get to see nearly enough (and of course, my mom and dad and brother/sister and brother/sister-in-laws, grandmas, grandpas and the various multitude of other relatives . . . 😉 ). All of this and the many other things–picnics, visits to Six Flags, Water Parks, and various festivals, family game nights/movie nights, the list is endless–that summer entails make it the time I look forward to the most every year.

041
One of the things I love that you might not think about right away is fruit. I love fruit, all kinds of fruit, and almost all of it is in season–bowls full of melon, pancakes smothered in strawberries, nectarines, and whipped cream, and blueberries in every way, shape and form I can construe. . . it makes me hungry just thinking about it! Yum!!

One of the things I look forward to every summer is when the price of blueberries takes a nose dive. I make blueberry pancakes, homemade blueberry streusel muffins, and my mom’s amazing Blueberry Buckle. I make blueberry everything. We gorge on blueberries. It’s fantastic!

Blueberry Buckle in particular, especially warm from the oven, is a bit like heaven for your mouth–and it’s so easy to make! My mom, who is a bit like Martha Stewart, only a much nicer, non-prison visiting version, introduced me to this recipe and every year I wait with anticipation for the chance to make it again.

So, now, when blueberries can be bought for a song and a smile, give it a try and let me know what you think! I don’t think you will regret it!

blueberry buckle

Mom’s Blueberry Buckle

1/4 C. butter, softened

3/4 C. sugar

1 egg

1/2 C. milk

2 C. flour

2 tsp. baking powder

1/2 tsp. salt

2 C. fresh blueberries

Topping

2/3 C. brown sugar

1/2 C. flour

1/2 tsp. cinnamon

1/3 C. cold butter

Pre-heat oven to 375. Mix wet ingredients together. Add dry ingredients. Fold in blueberries carefully (you don’t want to mush them or you want have your big, plump berries). Batter will be thick. Spread evenly in a greased 9×13 pan. Mix together topping ingredients. Make sure the butter is cool, you want the topping crumbly, not clumped. Sprinkle evenly over cake batter. Bake for 40-45 minutes.

 

Enjoy!

(It makes a scrumptious breakfast with a bowl of fruit on the side 🙂 )

Leave a Reply

