Move Over Red Shirt, and Make Way for the Heroine!

There is so much of being an adult that isn’t what I expected. I’ve always considered myself a fairly rational person (despite my idealism . . . maybe I didn’t have a very real picture of myself after all . . .).

Maybe I should blame it on being such an avid reader. After reading so many stories that follow the same basic principle, maybe my subconscious actually started thinking it would work that way.

You know, the heroine, misunderstood and under estimated, meets the boy who sees her for who she really is, they fall in love and walk merrily into the future hand in hand where everything comes up roses and sugar blossoms. Happily Ever after and all that.

Like I said, I do have a fairly large rational streak, and I certainly never thought that is how it would work, in my head at least, but my subconscious expectations, well . . . maybe they weren’t so rational after all!

I guess, whatever it is I expected, this wasn’t it. The normalcy of life, the hum drum progression of days where each one looks pretty much like the one before, this is NOT what I expected. The endless succession of ordinary tasks . . . getting the kids up for school, getting them out the door, cooking cleaning and cleaning some more only to start over with the same list of “to dos” the next day . . . . I have more in common with a scullery maid than the heroine in a story!

And see, there is the rub. I used to feel like the heroine in my own story. The same feeling I feel at the beginning of a good book, that feeling of potential and anticipation where the unexpected, the magical could be waiting for me just around the corner . . . I lived life in that charged place.

And like a good story, insecure, underestimated girl did indeed meet the boy who helped me believe in me and who swept me off my feet. I heard the swell of Andrea Bocelli in the background and felt the fireworks in his fingertips. I had my story and I was the heroine and it was glorious.

Next comes the happily ever after part, right? Like I said, I was too rational (and too smart!!) to really believe that. I knew that life in the real world was something very different. What I didn’t expect was that I would stop being the heroine of my own story.

These days I feel much more like the red shirt in my story rather than Captain Kirk. Aren’t I supposed to be the protagonist in my own story?  I feel like an insignificant extra. I feel like when I had my children, my story ended and theirs began.

Maybe a good mother would be okay with that. Maybe a selfless person wouldn’t think about it  twice. Certainly June Cleaver never would have spared a second for such selfish thoughts! But, then again, I am no June Cleaver! Though I am a good cook, even Rachel Ray’s 30 minute meals are fancier than I tend to cook. Not to mention that when it comes to housework, well, I am simply an abysmal failure. All my extended education did not prepare me for the impossible task of balancing the endless mountains of laundry and the messes left by some of the world’s messiest people! And I always thought that I was so good at multi-tasking! Hmpf!

But I digress. Maybe it is pure selfishness that makes me so crazy about not being the heroine of my own story. Maybe it shouldn’t bother me. Maybe a good mother is content to fade into the back story and live her life through her children.

But I don’t think so. Shouldn’t we all be the heroine of our own story? Should our sense of potential and anticipation disappear just because girl has already met boy? I don’t think so! My story is not over at 35! I won’t allow it to be!

Ah . . . but then there is the guilt. Shouldn’t this be enough? Shouldn’t I be perfectly happy just as I am? My husband is hot and he is my best friend to boot. I have three amazingly beautiful, smart children when genetics should have kept me from having any at all. Shouldn’t this be enough?

My family is my world and I would die for any one of them in a heartbeat. I know I am a good mother. I do put my children first and I suspect I always will, but that doesn’t mean that I need to play the role of martyr either.

I think the modern mother walks a difficult road. We have left the role of June Cleaver behind, but we see the error in the career mom who is an absentee mother. We long for balance. We want to be the heroine in our own story while teaching our children at the same time to be the hero/heroine of their own stories.

Most days it leaves me feeling like there is an internal tug of war being waged inside of me, and sadly, most often, it leaves me feeling like a failure at pretty much everything.

I don’t need to be the center of the universe. I don’t even need to be the center of my little family. But I do need to know that there is more waiting for me around the corner than Saturday’s soccer game. I need to know that I still have a role to play in this crazy story of life and that my role is more than just being the expendable red shirt.

I need to know that I am indeed the heroine of my own story, and that my story is not over, not now at 35, not at 55, not even at 75.

I think we all have a duty to step up and be the hero in our own story, to not sit back and let the story happen, but to find our role, to be an active participant.

Ever hero has to overcome, ever heroine has conflict and crisis that must be met. If you don’t have conflict, if you don’t have crisis, you’re not living your story.

Or, if you’re like me, and have had lots of conflict, always remember, the hero always has a choice; he can rise to the challenge and overcome and live the story he was created to live, or he can sit back and be the forgotten red shirt.

I don’t know about you, but I don’t want to be a red shirt! I won’t be a forgettable extra in my own life! I haven’t figured it out yet, but I’m going to keep trying to find that line, the line of being the best mother I can be while at the same time being the best me I can be.

9 thoughts on “Move Over Red Shirt, and Make Way for the Heroine!

  1. Hi, Heather. Wow. Interesting post. Sounds a little like my wife. Hope your husband is helping with his part in your life (us guys sometimes don’t see what our wives are going through sometimes). My own thoughts on this is that our culture has really been unfair to women. There is an expectation for them to be June Cleaver and Wonder Woman at the same time (or perhaps transition from one to the other when they reach a point in their life–i.e. when they have kids–and gracefully and happily at that. My opinion on what you are going through–hold on to your dreams, do not let go, and do something always to accomplish them. You’re right, you are STILL the heroine of your story! Thanks for this wonderful post!

    1. Thanks for the encouragement! I totally agree with your assessment of society’s expectations of women. I have often referred to the wonder woman analogy myself! 🙂 My hubby certainly tries, though, of course there are some things he could do better as well. Mostly though, I think I have to come to terms with it inside myself. I have to be okay with not being Womder Woman and I need to stop feeling guilty about it! No one is harder on me than myself! 🙂

  2. I totally get this post, every last word! I feel the same way, partly because I let being supermom take over my identity for so many years, and now I’m looking for “Tiff” again, but she’s hard to reach most of the time!

  3. Hey there. Thank you for stopping by. I popped in to say “thanks” and found a post that resonated as a mum of two … and may I encourage you that as you step in and be all you can be there will come the “joy indescribable” moments, times, seasons … in the midst of the messiness of life a rhythm will immerge. And I hazard a guess that one of your “gifts”, one the “why you exist”, aspects of you is writing, because, in this post, in any case, I found a beautiful, poetical voice! Keep writing, and in the meantime love your husband and children, relish life and the precious moments, and as you do, with the passion you so obviously have, you will find you live, not through your children, vicariously finding satisfaction, but their side … leaving an inheritance of a rich life led. Blessings, God is Good!

    1. Thank you for your words of encouragement. It has been hard in this stage in life to find the greater purpose to it all, but I keep telling myself that God can make sense even out of the chaos. I think writing is a part of it, but if I’ve learned anything at all in my years on this earth, it’s that God rarely does what you expect and almost never in the way you expected it! 🙂

Leave a Reply

