South Padre Island: My Attempt at Spontaneity Part 4 Mommy Epic Fail Part 2 Holy Crap Did I Screw Up!!

As I mentioned in my first blog on our South Padre Island adventure (Click here if you missed it!), I am not the most spontaneous person in the world. Okay, fine (I hear all my friends snickering at that understatement), I’m a bit of a control freak. I have always admired the idea of spontaneity, it just seems so free and stress free, but the end of our second day at the beach reminded me of just why I am a control freak.

We went back to our room at the hotel in the late afternoon, huge smiles on our faces, anticipating a good night ahead, and feeling like all was well with the world. We got to the room, changed out of our wet and sandy things, and we all lay down on our beds stretching like satisfied cats. You could almost feel the tired contentment in the room.

That’s when a thought entered my head that had somehow gotten lost in the buzz and whirl of spontaneity. I sat up bolt upright and my mouth dropped open. “Oh, no!” I groaned.

“What? What is it?” my husband asked.

“It’s Monday . . .”

“Yeah?” you could hear the question in Aaron’s voice.

I turned and stared at him and said, “Alivia!” at which point Aaron’s face began to mirror my own.

We have an arrangement with our neighbor. She takes the kids to school in the morning and I pick them up in the afternoon. I had asked Aaron to call her on Friday to tell her we were going out of town and we wouldn’t be able to pick Alivia up for those two days. Aaron had forgotten, but at the time I thought it wasn’t a big deal because we thought we were going to postpone the trip. Once we worked everything out to go after all, the thought never again entered my head until that very moment.

I felt HORRIBLE! All I could think of was poor Alivia sitting there, waiting for me to take her home and having no one come. If the tables had been turned I would have been so upset! That’s what I get for being spontaneous! I’m not meant to be spontaneous! There’s a reason God made me an obsessive planner! Ugh! And now I had dropped the ball big time.

To make matters worse, Aaron’s cell had died and my cell, which is just a dinosaur pay as you go phone that I rarely use, didn’t contain Alivia’s number. I, of course, remembered my charger, which I didn’t even need. Aaron, on the other hand, had forgotten his, and there was no one we could think of to call who would have their number. I felt like the worst friend/neighbor EVER!

We finally came up with the idea of calling the school, and though they wouldn’t give us their number, they were willing to call them for us. I knew it was too little too late, but it was the best we could do.

Aaron made the comment to me in passing, “I just hope they don’t call the police worried about us.” I didn’t think much about that. I mean, I know it’s not like me to drop the ball like that, but surely they would just assume that I screwed up, right? After all, Alivia knew that we were planning to go to the ocean. Surely she would note her parents concern and tell them we were going on vacation?

Almost the first thing I did when I got home was go next door and sheepishly knock on their door. I hate this kind of thing, but there was no way around it. I had screwed up too bad.

I apologized profusely, and of course they assured me it was okay, that it happens (though of course all I could think of is that no, I don’t do that kind of thing and that there was no excuse!). I jokingly mention that at least they hadn’t called the cops worried about us. Robert looked at me without expression and responded, “Well, actually we did. We were pretty worried about you guys.”

It was all I could do not to groan. I was SO humiliated! I didn’t even stick around to hear the whole story. I apologized again and high tailed it home wallowing in my sense of failure.

Aaron, not knowing that I had already gone over to apologize, went over as well. He got the whole story. Apparently the police had poked around our house a bit, waited until Tuesday morning and when they heard we still hadn’t shown up, they went to the school to see if anyone had seen or heard from us.

All I could think of is that the police showed up at my children’s Elementary school because I am a crap mother who can’t even remember to let her neighbor know she’s going out of town, and now the WHOLE SCHOOL KNOWS IT! UGH!!

Luckily, they showed up while the office secretary was on the phone with us so she was able to assure the police that all was well before they started calling our family or started a full blown search. Still, talk about a HUGE Mommy Epoch fail! I don’t think that I will live down the mortification from this one anytime soon!

One thought on “South Padre Island: My Attempt at Spontaneity Part 4 Mommy Epic Fail Part 2 Holy Crap Did I Screw Up!!

  1. Notice…it all worked itself out in the end, didn’t it? And we had a great time…so the moral of the story could also be: “Sometimes you just gotta get out of town and let go.”

    Plan as you go. Jump the obsicles as they pop up and just roll with it.

    LOL…no need to be a control freak…because you can never control life. *smile*

Leave a Reply

