It doesn’t get better than this!

It’s one of those perfect days. It’s one of those unexpectedly warm, sunny days when we should be in the stranglehold of winter’s gray, colorlessness. Days like this make me feel like a child again, opening a totally unanticipated present. The very unexpectedness of it lends extra delight. It’s one of those days where all the worries seem to disappear in light of the blue skies and sunshine.

It’s just warm enough to not be cool sitting in the shade. The gentle breeze makes me want to close my eyes and drift, but I can’t resist the family flying an amazing kite. There is something so beautiful about the bright colors of a kite against a brilliant blue sky.

In the other direction there is an equally alluring sight, a pond sparkling in the sunshine. I can see the ducks swimming across it in search of the newest horde of children to bring them bread. Several families, couples, individuals are walking their dogs around the lake.

In the background is my favorite sound of them all, the sound of my children playing and laughing. It makes it feel as if all is right in the world.

There is no room for troubles on such a day. I box them up, and put them on a shelf in my mind to be dealt with later. I will savor this moment. This picture perfect day will be unmarred by any dark clouds. Today I will live in the moment and that moment is good.

My daughter interrupts my contemplation to bring me a flower, if it can be called that. It has barely begun to bud. It shows the promise of beauty to come, but now, it is really a sad looking, little thing. I can’t help but wonder if it’s a little bit like my me. It doesn’t look like much. It’s been fighting the harsh winter conditions, waiting for the first sign of spring and it’s just beginning to bud, and it hasn’t given up.

I know it sounds a bit cliché. Still, my life has been caught in winter’s grasp for far too long. The cold has made me numb. Too many days have been lost to the simple fight of existence. My life, once so full of promise, has been stripped. I have wilted. My soul has wilted. But despite myself, my hope cannot die. I cannot but hope, and so, like that little flower, I am just waiting for the day when my soul will break through.

I am reminded of a book I read years ago, “Hind’s Feet in High Places.” I remember the flower pushing passed the rocks. . . the flower that grew despite all adversity.  . . the flower that refused to give in to the conditions surrounding it.

Today I can believe that my life will become something great, not despite all I’ve gone through, but because of it. On a day like today I can believe anything. I think that’s why days like today exist, to keep hope alive, to push us passed our circumstances, passed what seems to be. Such days take us to a place where we can dare to believe in what might be yet again, despite what is and despite what has been. Today is a day for hope.

 

NOTE: I have not forgotten about the list of bloggers I am to pass the versatile blogger award on to. I have almost completed the list and it will be up and ready for you to check out sometime tomorrow! 🙂

2 thoughts on “It doesn’t get better than this!

Leave a Reply

