A Walk Down Memory Lane– Don’t Mind the Pitfalls!

In honor of Valentine’s Day, I thought I would take a walk down memory lane.  All the way back to December  15, 1999. Over twelve years ago now! So hard to believe.

That is the day before I married my best friend, Aaron Graham. It was also a day that was a comedy of errors as was the wedding day itself.  Everything that could go wrong, did, and yet, despite that, it was the second happiest day of my life (the only day that was happier was when my beautiful little Serena was born).

The problems started a couple of days before the wedding. I went to the mansion on Summit Avenue in St. Paul, MN where we were getting married to finish up the decorating details. As I was talking through the details with the lady in charge, the bottom started to fall out. “Oh, you can’t do that! That’s not allowed!” seemed to be her phrase of the day. All my decorating plans got chucked out the window two days before my wedding! Even bigger problem, my budget was pretty much spent. I had less than a hundred dollars left. Not only was I going to have to punt, I was going to have to do it on almost nothing! I panicked!

My mother-in-law to be went to Michaels with me and we pieced together a decorating plan with the little bit of money I had left. It wasn’t what I wanted, but, it was something. Crisis averted.

The day before my wedding dawned and I was all alone. My family wasn’t going to be there until later in the day. I’m not sure where my best friends were. Being that my fiancé and I were doing the traditional waiting until marriage, he wasn’t around either. I was feeling a bit glum. I remember staring out the window thinking that other people were surrounded by crowds of people the day before they got married. It was a bit of a pity party.

When my mother did finally arrive, the wedding stuff was to begin. The first order of business was a massage appointment that I had set up months in advance. I had been looking forward to this for the longest time. What better way to relax than a massage?

The only problem was, they had lost the appointment and couldn’t fit me in. Hell no! You don’t mess with a bride the day before her wedding! I don’t THINK so!

I proceeded to throw the only temper tantrum of my adult life. Yep, right there in front of God and everybody. I might not have thrown myself down on the ground kicking and screaming, but you just don’t mess with a bride right before her wedding! The claws came out!

They offered me a facial instead.

Did they think I was stupid?!? Everyone knows you don’t get a facial right before an important day because it could cause you to break out! Seriously! Don’t mess with this bride right before her wedding!

Well, I don’t remember what I said or did (probably a good thing I’m thinking) but, needless to say, I got that massage darn it!

Shortly after that we had the dress rehearsal. We had a very small window of time to work with.  It was less than an hour, and if memory serves me right it was significantly less than an hour. Almost everyone showed up late. Seriously. We had a ten to fifteen minute run through when everyone got there which meant that nobody really had a clue of what they were doing which of course, was going to have major ramifications the next day!

Make sure you check out part two in a couple of days to hear about when the bottom really fell out! 😀

2 thoughts on “A Walk Down Memory Lane– Don’t Mind the Pitfalls!

    1. You’re so funny! I have it mostly written, but I wasnt\’t sure if I should post it. People didn’t seem as interested in it overall. Though more funny stuff happened in part 2 than part one . . .

Leave a Reply

