A Not So Very Merry Christmas

 

            Christmas is my favorite time of year. I love everything about it. I love the hustle bustle (though not the crowds!). I love the decorations and music. I love finding the perfect present that I know somebody’s going to love. I love all the goodies. I love the cold mornings when my bed feels all the more delicious for the snuggly little haven it becomes in the winter months. I just love it all!

            But this Christmas, I find I have a heavy heart. I’m still loving the time with my children. We are having some wonderful moments. But the cloud began to form with a personal setback which seemed to steal a bit of the joy. Then I started hearing of the heart ache of many people I know. Jobs lost, illness and loss which culminated this morning in the news that my husband’s cousin’s husband has an inoperable brain tumor. As wonderful as Christmas is, life doesn’t stop for Christmas and many people are going to be finding that this Christmas is anything but merry for them.

            I remember the first few Christmases after Serena died. They were torture. Christmas seemed to heighten the loss. I think of my friend who only recently lost her son and I wonder what Christmas will be like for her this year. I think of Carrie and Aaron as they and their family clings to hope that God will give them a miracle this Christmas. I think of the many struggling families who can’t find a job and can’t afford to have the Christmas their kids are expecting. And my heart hurts. Christmas is a wonderful time of year when all is well, but when things are not well, well, it is a very different story.

            My wish for Christmas this year is that everyone who is at a good place would keep their eyes open for those who are not and that they would choose to make someone’s Christmas just a little brighter. For those of you who pray, pray for those around you who have touched by the hand of suffering or loss. For those of you who don’t pray, a kind word and the knowledge that someone sees and cares can make all the difference!

             Let’s make Christmas better this year by looking outside our little families and seeing those around us.

 

            After all, that’s what Christmas is really all about!

3 thoughts on “A Not So Very Merry Christmas

  1. That is so very true. I have a friend battling breast cancer, but luckily the chemo and radiation are working out for her, so they have something to be thankful for. We still miss those who have passed away, but I like to think that they are the angels sent to watch over us. Love your blogs!

Leave a Reply

