Thank you NanoWriMo for Lighting a Fire Under my Butt!

            Well, NanoWriMo is done. December 1 is here. How did I do? Well, I think I can say that I was not a complete failure.

            I wanted to be totally done with the book, but with three little kids, one still at home all day and she being perhaps the craziest of the bunch, I think I was setting my sights a little high. Especially since the older two kids got a full week off of school for Thanksgiving. All three kids cooped up together in my house equals a constant stream of bickering, tattling, crying, pouting and refereeing. It’s amazing that I got anything written at all! Add to that the fact that I made a whole Thanksgiving dinner by myself and I still found a way to squeak in writing time . . . I think I did pretty darn good!

            So, obviously, I didn’t get the whole book written, but I think I can honestly say that I came pretty close to finishing 2/3 of it. Not too bad. NanoWriMo definitely motivated me and I feel like it gave me momentum. I think it is safe to say that I may very well be done before Christmas. I think I would have to call NanoWriMo a success by and large!

            So, as a teaser, I thought I’d throw out a couple of our chapter headings (with maybe a couple of lines tossed in for good measure!)! 🙂 For those of you who might not know, my husband and I are co-authoring this quirky, tongue-in-cheek, hopefully wisdom filled book on marriage and parenting.

His: PRINCE CHARMING WAS JUST LOST IN THE WOODS

Poor Snow White; if she only knew that Prince Charming would have been just as happy to stumble on Cinderella or Ariel singing by the Wishing Well. He would have wooed them with the same corny little ballad he sang to her.

Hers: I’m Stuck on the Suburban Treadmill of Middle Class America and I Can’t Get off!

His: My Son Just Tied My Daughter to a Ceiling Fan While I Stepped in Something Squishy

            So, I think I need to give a shout out to NanoWriMo for giving me the motivation to get this far! Hopefully within a few weeks I’ll be able to say that “I have officially done it! I’m done!”

Crossing my fingers! Three little ones can quickly kill the best intentions and the most thought out plans after all!

2 thoughts on “Thank you NanoWriMo for Lighting a Fire Under my Butt!

Leave a Reply

