“Wet Things”

            Being that Gavin turned seven this weekend, I’ve been reminiscing a lot about my little guy. It’s so hard to believe that seven years have passed so quickly! It seems like only yesterday that he was that little snuggler who loved cuddling with his Mommy more than anything in the world. Though he still enjoys a snuggle now and again, I have long since been replaced as his favorite entertainment. Sigh.

            I’ve been reflecting on who he was and he who he is now and wondering who he will become. I’ve been reflecting about the highs and the lows. I’ve chuckled about the funny times, and said a thank you that some of the hard times are behind us. Since he’s been so much on my mind, I thought I’d share one of my favorite Gavin stories with all of you. I think you’ll find it pretty entertaining!

            One of the things you need to know about Gavin is that he loves humor. Not only that, but from a very young age he understood humor. You know how most kids come up with jokes that make no sense? Not Gavin. The kid was funny. Still is actually.

            When he was three he was in preschool. Like most preschool programs, the kids had a nap time in the afternoon. Though Gavin had been potty trained for quite some time, he had a much harder time staying dry when he slept. One day during nap time, he fell into too deep of a sleep, and he woke up wet.

            He told his teacher and she handed him a garbage bag and told him to go in the bathroom and put his wet things in the bag. He dutifully did as he was told.

            His teacher went about what she was doing and then heard Gavin call to her. “Mrs. Garcia, I put my wet things in the bag.”

             Mrs. Garcia turned to see Gavin in the doorway, standing in the garbage bag buck naked with a big grin on his face. She of course stared at him and then rolled.

            “What?” he asked. “You told me to put my wet things in the bag and I’m a wet thing!”

             Gotta love that kid! As Mrs. Garcia said back then, “That one’s so smart that he definitely keeps you on your toes!” He still does. And he still makes us laugh. 😀

One thought on ““Wet Things”

Leave a Reply

