The Magic of Music

            Have you ever noticed how you can be in a really bad mood and a song comes on the radio that you love and all of a sudden you feel a whole lot better? Well a university study now confirms what we all already knew according to one of the magazines I flip through periodically. Music that we love can indeed affect our mood. To which I rolled my eyes and said, “Duh! Like we needed a study to tell us that!”

            Just yesterday I experienced its mood changing abilities. My son woke up grumpy as he does on occasion. This had in turn affected my mood and I was feeling grumpy. Then he started bickering with his sisters, which had them feeling grumpy. We were all cooped up in the Jeep on our way to the zoo, supposedly to have a good time. I decided that something needed to be done.

            I announced that no one was allowed to talk. We were going to listen to music now. And I pulled out my “Happy” CD.

            The next thing I know, I’m belting out to Jo Dee Messina’s “I’m Alright” and Martine Mc Bride’s “Happy Girl.” That’s when I hear the sounds coming from the backseat. All the kids are grinning and singing with me at the top of their lungs. Arabelle’s even dancing, as much as she can manage strapped into her booster seat that is!

            Just like that, the grumpies melted away. Everyone was smiling and laughing. And you know what, we had a great day at the zoo after all!

            What’s your happy music? And if you don’t have any, find some! It can make a world of difference! 🙂

6 thoughts on “The Magic of Music

  1. Dog Days are Over by Florence + the Machine
    John Melloncamp- pretty much anything by him
    Walking on Sunshine by Katrina and the Waves (the one from the 80’s!)
    Sweet Home Alabama by Lynyrd Skynyrd
    Footloose
    Right Round by Flo Rida
    Life is a Highway

    I could go on (and on and on), but will stop with that.
    When thinking of songs, I tended to think of older stuff from growing up. The double whammy of nostalgia and a good, fast rhythm make it hard to be anything but happy when listening to them! I did try to get in a few new songs though!

  2. Good list! I’m right there with you on some of them and I so agree that I mostly tend toward older stuff, particularily from the college years. 🙂 I also tend to find country more upbeat, though KT Tunstall has a couple, Black Horse and the Cherry Tree and Suddenly I See that are right up there.

    1. I’m so glad that you checked it out and that you liked what you read. 🙂 My whole goal is to meet people where they’re at and make them think so I’m glad that you think I have done that! Thank you!

  3. Great blog, Heather!

    “It’s A Good Day” by FFH is a GREAT song to play for the “bad day blues”. Works evertime! =)

Leave a Reply

